SCHOOL OF DENTISTRY

Accreditation

All educational programs in the School of Dentistry are accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association, a specialized accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. The Commission's last site visit was in November 2019. All programs in the School of Dentistry are currently accredited. The Commission on Dental Accreditation may be contacted by phone at 1-800-621-8098. The Commission is located at 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, Illinois 60611.

Brief History

The Texas legislature created the Health Science Center School of Dentistry, a public institution, in 1969 with the first class entering in 1970. Located in the heart of the South Texas Medical Center, it is one of six University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio schools. A leader in research activities, the School of Dentistry has strong clinical and didactic programs. Numerous research opportunities are available to students, and the interdisciplinary aspect of many research programs is regarded as one of the institution's strengths. Clinical training occurs in the school's clinics and University Hospital, as well as at various extramural sites in San Antonio and southern Texas. The School of Dentistry also offers advanced education in all of the dental specialties, advanced training in general dentistry and a Bachelor of Science in Dental Hygiene. The school is situated in northwest San Antonio, the seventh largest city in the United States.

Mission

The School of Dentistry (http://www.uthscsa.edu/academics/dental/) mission is to improve oral health through excellence in education, research, patient care, and community engagement.

Vision

The School of Dentistry strives to be recognized as the leading academic oral health institution.