Translational Science

In line with a field of science that emphasizes multi-disciplinary, collaborative research, the doctoral program in Translational Science is offered as a multi-institutional joint degree program.  The four UT System universities partnering in this effort are:

Joint Degree Institutions:

  • The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio (UTHSCSA)
  • The University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA)
  • The University of Texas at Austin (UT Austin)

Collaborating Institution:

  • The University of Texas School of Public Health (UTSPH) Regional Campus in San Antonio

This collaboration of four universities to offer a single joint doctoral degree is unique in the UT System.  The program is designed to use the existing resources and expertise in specific key areas of each university to offer a strong, diverse, and competitive Translational Science Ph.D. The TS Ph.D. will prepare the next generation of scientists to lead the multi-disciplinary biomedical research teams of the future in increasingly complex research environments.  These scientists will advance knowledge in areas across the translational research spectrum ranging from basic discovery, through human investigation, to population based and policy research.  While working in depth in their dissertation content areas, TS Ph.D. candidates will all work toward the goal of translating scientific discoveries (whether at the bench or in the community) into strategies that will improve healthcare delivery, patient outcomes, and community health.