School of Nursing


The Health Science Center School of Nursing was established in 1969.  The School of Nursing was originally part of The University of Texas System School of Nursing with campuses in Galveston, Austin, Houston, San Antonio, El Paso and Tyler.  All five schools followed the same curriculum.  In 1976 the System School of Nursing was dissolved and each School of Nursing has since been independent and governed by the university on the campus where the school is located.

The School of Nursing offers four degree programs, a Bachelor of Science in Nursing (B.S.N.), Master of Science in Nursing (M.S.N.), Doctor of Nursing Practice (D.N.P.), and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) and one Post-Graduate Certificate as a Nurse Practitioner.

The School of Nursing has a unique role in nursing education related to its placement in the South Texas Region.  The region has large underserved populations with different health care needs.  Cardiovascular disease, diabetes, teen pregnancy, mental illness and other chronic conditions are prevalent.  We have been designated by the United States Department of Education as a Hispanic Serving Institution.


We develop diverse nurse leaders to improve health and health care, through education, research, practice, and community engagement.


We make lives better by promoting health as an act of social justice.


  1. Innovation: ​We, the faculty, staff, and students of the UT Health School of Nursing, believe in delivering leading edge health care, education, research, and community service.
  2. Diversity and Inclusion: ​We believe in fostering an inclusive environment as a foundation to make health care available to all.
  3. ​Ethics & Accountability: ​We believe in honoring the dignity of others through the accountability of our actions.
  4. ​Advocacy: ​We believe in promoting healthy lifestyles and access to health care for all populations.
  5. ​Synergy: ​We believe in inter-professional cooperation to improve health outcomes for all.


  • Education: Be the School of Nursing that students and faculty choose for its mission and vision, vibrant academic culture, innovative programs and service to community, state, and region.
  • Culture of Excellence: ​Enhance the culture of excellence in the School of Nursing through innovative mentorship and meaningful recognition of the faculty, staff, and students.
  • Research: ​Expand research programs of excellence and distinction in advancing promotion of human health and transformation of health care.
  • Health Care: ​To be a health care provider of choice for Central and South Texas with a focus on patient centered care.
  • Community Engagement: ​Foster a UT Health San Antonio community partnership that benefits the diverse communities we serve through education, practice and research to meet mutually identified health and health education needs.

The School of Nursing mission, values, and vision are published on the School of Nursing web site and relates to all programs. The School of Nursing goals are incorporated into the strategic plan. Both are accessible to current and prospective students. The mission, vision and goals are each congruent with those of the Health Science Center. They are consistent with relevant professional standards and nursing guidelines to prepare students for beginning and advanced nursing practice.


The Health Science Center School of Nursing’s baccalaureate program is approved by the Texas Board of Nursing, P.O. Box 430, Austin, Texas 78767-0430, (512) 305-6818. The baccalaureate, master's and DNP programs at the Health Science Center are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, 655 K Street, NW, Suite 750, Washington, DC 20001. (202) 887-6791. The School of Nursing last on-site evaluation was April 2018 and was granted full accreditation through December 31, 2028 for its baccalaureate, master's and DNP degree programs.

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education
655 K Street, NW, Suite 750
Washington, D.C. 20001
(202) 887-6791